Real estate continuing education is an important part of being a licensed real estate agent. It helps agents stay on top of industry trends and laws. The courses are free and are offered through numerous organizations. This article discusses the requirements, costs, and places to take these courses. It also includes information for new agents.
The real estate commission in New Jersey requires that all licensed real estate professionals complete a certain number of hours of continuing education (CE) courses every two years to maintain their licenses. These credits are based on the Term (July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023). In New Jersey, CE courses are available from the NJ REALTORS(r) Academy of Continuing Education. In addition, many courses are available online through PSI, a company that offers a convenient and comprehensive tracking system for real estate continuing education.
There are also state-specific requirements for CE courses. In New York, for example, distance education courses must include a timing device so that students cannot complete them faster than the required number of credit hours. The timer will time out after 15 minutes of inactivity. Further, in order to earn credits, students must demonstrate that they understand certain topics at certain levels, and in the final exam.
Continuing education courses are an important part of real estate agents’ careers. Not only can they help agents remain current in their field, they can also serve as better resources for clients. The good news is that most state-approved courses are affordable and are tax-deductible as necessary professional expenses. But there real estate continuing education are some costs to keep in mind.
The costs of attending a real estate school can range from a few hundred dollars to more than $1,000, depending on the state and type of program. The number of hours required by the state is another factor. For example, Michigan requires 40 hours of education, whereas California requires more than 100 hours.
Places to take courses
If you’re looking for online real estate continuing education courses, you’ve come to the right place. RealEstateU is a low-cost option that combines real estate education with on-demand video lessons. The courses can be taken as quickly as your schedule allows. You can even sign up for a free demo course and test it out for yourself.
You can enroll in online or classroom courses at RealEstateU. Online courses are self-paced with on-demand video lessons and tutorials from real estate professionals. Online courses are offered at a variety of times, and you can access them at any time. Some real estate professionals prefer this option because it’s convenient and offers additional benefits beyond the minimum requirements for CE.
Requirements for new agents
New agents and brokers are required by law to participate in a set number of hours of continuing education (CE) annually. These requirements are determined by state laws and are administered by the real estate commissions. These requirements differ from state to state and can be completed in two different ways: pre-licensing and post-licensing.
Before you can renew your real estate license, you need to complete the necessary hours of continuing education. In addition to the required hours, you must take courses related to the real estate business. There are a variety of online courses available to meet your CE requirements.
Requirements for renewals
Real estate professionals need to regularly update their knowledge to remain compliant with state regulations. New York requires real estate professionals to take at least 22 hours of continuing education courses every two years. These courses must cover various topics such as recent legal matters and ethical business practices. These courses are also required for salespeople in their first license term.
Continuing education courses must cover at least 18 hours of real estate law and rule. Courses on discrimination in the sale of real property and fair housing are also required. The course should be accredited by the Real Estate Examining Board. The course should also contain a minimum of two hours of courses on ethics.